The Little Spoon Apothacary: Face Cleansers

roseandco

I have always loved glass jars, they look beautiful filled with anything from dried lavender to bubble baths. I think my love for jars comes from an old apothecary shop that can be found at the top of main street in a lovely village where I grew up. It is like stepping back in time, it has dark wooden shelves filled with bath salts, soaps, lotions, jams, it’s like a witches pantry.

roseandco1 bronte-country-haworth-yorkshire-travel-apothocery

As a busy mum splashing out on beauty treatments has become a little more tricky these days, not only are they expensive they are also pretty time-consuming and usually require that you go during the day. I am also not a fan of putting chemicals on my skin so I decided, with my apothecary inspiration in mind to start making my own treatments with all natural ingredients. It’s so much fun trying out new concoctions and filling lovely jars with different mixtures.www.hollybooth.com

I have made all sorts from cleansers to dry shampoo’s, the best part is that they are all chemical free, cost-effective and my skin and hair have never looked better. So now I get the benefit of pampering myself when ever I fancy. Whats more relaxing than a long soak in a candle lit bubble bath with a lavender honey face mask or a massage from the hubby with homemade scented oils. I have even popped on a luxurious whipped coconut oil hair mask and done the laundry! Either way you get to be beautified and don’t have to spend a fortune to do it. I will be putting up my favorite natural homemade beauty treatments, starting with these cleansers.

IMG_3140

Cleansing your skin is important to remove impurities and bacteria that build up throughout the day and add to the aging process. Chemical based cleansers from the store tend to irritate your delicate skin because they are harsh and made to strip your face of its natural oils which in turn causes it to over produce oil leading to breakouts, redding of the skin, dry patches and just general imbalance. The cleansers below won’t do that but will leave you with a bright and beautiful complexion.

The oil cleansing method

IMG_3118

This has become a popular way of cleansing and it’s clear why, it leaves your skin clean and soft, it doesn’t dry it our and it doesn’t leave you greasy. The reason being is that oil dissolves oil and castor oil is great at cleansing which is why only a small amount is needed, it is also blended with a gentler carrier oil creating a nice balance for your skin.

Ratios:

Oily Skin – 30% Castor Oil 70% Carrier Oil

Normal Skin – 20% Castor Oil, 80% Carrier Oil

Dry Skin – 10% Castor Oil, 90% Carrier Oil

Very Dry – 100% carrier oil such as Coconut Oil

You can try different carrier oils until you find one you like, such as coconut oil which some people say can clog pores but I love it and have never had this issue. Other great options are almond oil, avocado oil, grapeseed oil, hemp oil , extra virgin olive oil, sunflower seed oil, what ever works best for you.

Method:

I cleanse once  per day before bed to remove make up, I like to leave my face as it is in the morning.

Step 1

Warm the oil in your hand, then massage into your face.

Step 2

(You can skip this step if you’re in a hurry)

Place a warm wet wash cloth on your face for 10 – 15 seconds to open pores

Step 3

Rinse with warm water 2 or 3 times until the excess oil has dissolved and your skin is smooth

Honey, cinnamon and coconut oil cleanser

IMG_3125

I love this cleanser it leaves my skin glowing and smelling lovely. You can increase the quantities and store in a sterilized jar.

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon of raw honey (an antibacterial that draws moisture into the skin)
  • 2 teaspoons of virgin cold pressed coconut oil (cleansing and moisturizing) or any carrier oil of your choice such as avocado or olive oil.
  • 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice (brightens skin and dark spots)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon (gently exfoliates)

Mix together your ingredients then apply to the skin in circular motions, leave for 15 seconds then rinse with warm water.

Pink Grapefruit foaming cleanser

IMG_3130

This is a deep cleaning face wash that i like to do every couple of weeks, I love that it foams and leaves my skin feeling fresh.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil (Gently cleanses the skin)
  • 1 Teaspoon of grapefruit juice (stimulates collagen, reduces acne and age spots)
  • 1/4 tsp of baking soda (exfoliates, fights acne and brightens skin)

Mix together the olive oil and baking soda until smooth then add the grapefruit juice and give a quick stir, when it begins to foam apply to your face and rub gently in circular motions. Rinse with warm water and slick on a little olive oil to moisturize.

Leave a comment