Gluten and Dairy Free Key Lime Pie

DSC_2977

A few years ago on a cruise with my family we stopped at Key West in Florida, it is one of the most charming place I have ever been! It’s a sunshine soaked town full of brightly coloured shops selling sea shells and candies, restaurants on the dockside and it’s all surrounded by clear blue water.
small island near key west

I felt like I had just walked into a Nicholas Sparks novel, I would love to drive along the overseas highway and visit again.

DSC04076

While we were there we ate at B.O.’S Fish Wagon which looks like an old shack from the outside, it has an abandoned truck parked half way inside with a mannequin behind the wheel! Although we were skeptical at first we were quickly won over.

DSC04096

(That’s my dad in the door way)

Inside it is filled with cool bits and bobs like licence plates on the walls, wooden skis, money from around the world, all of which adds to the great atmosphere.

DSC04102

The food is fantastic, they serve conch sandwiches, grouper, Mahi Mahi, buckets of shrimp and ice-cold beers to wash it all down.

DSC04101

After B.O.’s we wandered around the town which has a cute miniature train, we came across Kermit’s Lime Shop were we had a slice of their famous Key Lime Pie.

DSC04082

That was the 1st time I had tried Key Lime pie, it was delicious! Creamy and sweet with a citrus kick and a crunchy base. We were all in love, so I got the recipe. After a few weeks back at home in the rain I decided to cook one up and it was incredibly easy and tasted just the same! It has quickly become my Dads favourite dessert and I love how simple they are to make and you only need 3 ingredients condensed milk, egg yolks and key lime juice.

DSC_2977

When I became gluten and dairy free I decided that I wanted to have a go at making one that I could eat but I put it off because of how lovely the original is but recently every time I made my df condensed milk i had a go. The problem was it took me a few times to get the condensed milk correct but as soon as I did, I whipped up these mini key lime pie pots and they were gorgeous!

DSC_2974

I was over the moon to be able to have them again and now I am excited to try to make key lime pie ice cream, key lime cheese cake and what ever else I can conjure up! So here it is my version of Kermit’s Key lime pie.

DSC_2971

Ingredients:

Base

  • 1 1/4 cups of gluten-free graham cracker crumbs
  • 4 tablespoons of melted earth balance buttery sticks
  • 2 tablespoons of brown sugar

Key Lime Pie

Preheat your oven to 325f. In a bowl mix together the graham cracker crumbs, sugar and melted butter then divide evenly between 6 small mason jars or one pie dish, then cover and place in the refrigerator for 15 minutes.

In a large mixing bowl whisk your condensed milk and yolks untill combined then slowly add the lime juice and continue to mix until that is also fully combined. Spoon mixture over your graham cracker base and  bake for 15 minutes.

They will not be set but don’t worry allow to cool then screw on jam jar lids or cover pie and refrigerate for 5 hours or over night then top with a few blueberries and enjoy.

8 thoughts on “Gluten and Dairy Free Key Lime Pie

  1. Natalie says:

    My MIL made this key lime pie this weekend for my boys, who are GF and DF. I heard that the process was a bit time consuming, but the finished product was delicious. I think a bit more key lime juice or some zest would have been a great addition. The taste was similar to cheese cake actually. Whenever I try the recipe, I will probably use a little less lemon juice than what is specified in the recipe to get a cheese cake type dessert. Thanks for a great recipe that works!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much for your experiments. I have used the gf condensed milk for different recipes, especially key lime pie!! Keep up the wonderful discoveries:-) We are very appreciative.

Leave a comment